Lost in Translation

See, I’ve never really understood
Why people always come to me for advice.
I’m not really too good at giving it,
I ponder what you say
And I know how you feel
But I can’t put anything into words

I guess that’s what I’m most bad at.
The conversion of thoughts into sentences.
I can’t explain my emotions

And maybe that’s why my therapist gets impatient with me
Because I think about things
But I don’t voice what I’m thinking.
I really don’t know how.

Because for me, putting feelings into phrases
Is like taking this poem
And translating it into Arabic.

Now, maybe that’s a bad example
Because I do not know a word of Arabic
But I speak English very well

Here’s a better example:
I’m a native English speaker who became fluent in Arabic
But then got amnesia and forgot it all
And now I’m expected to translate this regardless

Anyway, I’m rambling now.

I guess it’s just that my brain is on a different track
Than everyone else’s.
Maybe it just functions differently
I don’t know

But I do have some redeeming qualities, I promise
I can listen.
I can understand.
Because nobody’s perfect
And no one deserves to feel alone.

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

