Broken Chains

You know what I’m sick of this
I’m sick of feeling bad
And at the same time holding this grudge
When I don’t even remember what for

I hate that I stripped myself naked of pride
And took responsibility for everything that wasn’t my fault
Only for you to laugh and throw it back in my face

I hate that when I say “I’m sorry”
You don’t apologize back
Or even appreciate the effort it took me to confess
But instead look at me with your stone cold demeanor and harshly grunt
“Prove it”

You used to be sunshine on a warm day
That I would bask in for hours
But now I stay indoors
For fear of getting sunburn

It’s draining it really is
Being the only one putting forth effort
And, you know what, I’m done
I can’t do this anymore

I can’t give you everything
Only for you to throw it to the side
Yelling it’s not good enough

I’ve always been just below you
Always trying to measure up
Always trying to seek your approval
Like you’re some kind of hero
Wishing I could be good enough

You’ve always had me right there behind you
Trailing in your footsteps
Trying and failing to please you,
And that made you feel powerful
Because you denied me and I still tried.
I never gave up on you
But that went to your head and you abused it

So tomorrow you’re glance back
And I’m not gonna be there anymore
Because I’ve put on my sunglasses
And now I can see
That you’re no hero.

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

