Artificial Beauty

They tell you
You can be anything you want.
That’s a load of bullshit.
In this world
You can’t be an artist if you can’t hold a pencil
You can’t be a singer if you can’t carry a tune
You can be anything you want
But only if you’re good at it
I gave serious thought
To pursuing a career in carpentry
Because the only thing I’m good at, really, is building walls
And neatening up exteriors to fit that picturesque image
So no one will notice leaky plumbing
And creeking floorboards

I’m living life as a house with a ‘for sale’ sign
In a pristine neighborhood with fancy cars and dressed up lawns
But I’m tired of trying to be a perfect excuse for a daughter
I hate only looking good on paper
And from second-hand stories
I’d much rather be something else
Like a bungalow tucked in the woods somewhere
With drywall that tells stories of funny couples that lived there
And an old-fashioned fireplace full of ashes and character
I’d much rather be beautiful from the inside out
Because I can’t help but think
I’m destined for something more than beautiful emptiness

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artificial Beauty

  1. I love the pure honesty and truth illustrated in this poem. My favorite line is the last one ‘I’m destined for something more than beautiful emptiness” which is so true to me right now. -Phoenix

  2. savannahlyn says:

    Thank you so much! I’m really glad you can relate to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

