Dealing With A Hardening Heart

No one ever taught me how to love gently:
Instead I approach it as a pile of falling bricks
Plummeting until it hits something
Hard.

So I’d like to apologize in advance for the undeserving bruises
I will inevitably leave in your skin

Someone once called me a “heart breaker”,
I prefer the term “knows what she wants”
But the problem is
Sometimes it’s not what I signed up for
And I try to change my mind

But then he flashes the same smile I fell in love with
Back when he was making flowers grow in my soul
With those eyes of pure sunshine,
Conflicting my hardening heart

Because even though the buds are long past
Remnants are still there
And I’ll never forget how they were so lovingly harvested

So I’ll smile back
As promises of forever spill from his tongue
And my lips will tackle his in response,
Pretending that infinity doesn’t sound so out of reach

So I won’t have to lie out loud

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dealing With A Hardening Heart

  1. I like that term “knows what she wants” 🙂

Leave a Reply

