Potential Break Up Poem

You used to make me want to get lost in those promises
That rolled right off your tongue
And disappear into traces left by your fingertips.
You made me melt inside your inviting embrace
As I gave you the keys to my heart
You parted my ribs and moved in your belongings

Sometimes your voice on the other line was my only salvation,
But now I’m finding myself caught between pauses left between us
And rambling long apologies to the dial tone.
I left your things on your doorstep
Please return those keys
Because I don’t know how to be yours anymore

I’m sorry

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potential Break Up Poem

  1. Greg Moss says:

    I really like your work. You capture the things that I try to capture in my writing.

Leave a Reply

