Addiction Is a Funny Thing

I’ve always prided myself
On my lack of dependence
To anything, really
I just don’t get attached I guess

You know,
My grandfather was a smoker for 45 years
And then he quit
Just like that
Maybe I get it from him

But yesterday he was taking the dog for a walk
9:15 am
Like every morning
He passed a man smoking
A good old pack of Camels
Burning essence of tobacco
You know,
My grandfather started smoking again
Like no time had passed at all

But yesterday I went out to dinner with my friends
6:30 pm
Like every Friday
I saw you standing outside
Your good old casual stance
Hands in your pockets, simple smile
You know,
I started loving you again
Like no time had passed at all

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

