I Dreamed a Dream

When I was ten I dreamed
of love in the form of kisses
that feel like exploding galaxies
unable to handle the depth of their passion
I dreamed of early morning pillow whispers
of promises that were meant to be kept
and evening magic that would last until morning
When I was ten I didn’t know
of lies that poured out of beautiful mouths like molasses
Of the shattering sound of a door closing shut
after a night that was supposed to mean something
I didn’t know how easy it would be for him
to slip his tongue between the lips of a girl
who thought he was made of stardust
but who was just another story to tell his bros
When I was ten I knew nothing about construction
But since then I’ve gotten good at building walls

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in spilled ink, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

