First Date

Tell me about yourself.
But not conventionally.
Tell me about the void
That opens in the center of your being
Threatening to swallow you whole.
What do you do?
Tell me about how the word ‘love’ has felt in your mouth.
Tell me, where do you feel your butterflies?
On the days the pieces of you fragment
When they threaten to spill out
All at once
How do you hold them together?
Where do I fit in to your poetry?

About savannahlyn

I write to articulate what my tongue cannot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

